Breakthrough idea: Keyboard bubbles up from touch screen

Check out this idea – a touchscreen that emerges a keyboard when you need it.

See also other new ideas for 3D interaction methods.

What do you think? Do any of them capture your imagination?

    • jtheuerl
    • September 15th, 2013

    I watched a video about this several months ago. I have thought about this new innovation for quite some time and I think it is a really amazing idea. One of the most frustrating aspects of using my tablet as a user is the fact that I have to look down at the key board to see where I am typing. This slows down my typing speed significantly. One thing that I am interested in with this pop-up key board is if you drop the tablet or something will the container that holds the liquid break easily and cause damage to the computing system? Lastly, a really great aspect that the keyboard should incorporate is the J and F key to have a slight bump to indicate the main row for typing.

    • yangchenpurdue
    • September 16th, 2013

    I like the pop-up keyboard idea too. Last week, I used skype to talk with our group members by Ipad. I feel bad when I was typing, especially in a second language. But, I am not sure this pop-up can offer the same fluent experience with typing in a real keyboard of PC, because I think it only can compete with a keyboard of blackberry phone. The eternal problem is the size of keyboard. Human have too big hands and fingers for that little devices.

  1. Yang, note that in the user-centered philosophy we would say that the buttons are too small, not the hands are too big! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Write comment

