Reading guidance: Info architecture; Prototyping Oct. 24, 2012

This week completes the topic of conceptual design. Organizing information (information architecture) is an important part of the design. Please head to Bb > Readings > Week 10… and read at least the first reading posted there. As you read, please try to understand the following about information architecture:

  1. What is it?
  2. What are some user-centered techniques for creating the information architecture?
  3. What are various website topologies (ways of organizing information)?

As you skim the other two research articles, try to figure out:

  1. What navigation topologies and structures are better in what kind of situations?

UX Book Chapter 11 is about Prototypes. They are the logical continuation of sketches and wireframes that you read about for last week. The most important thing to get out of the chapter, IMO, is:

  1. How do you choose between the different types and fidelity levels of prototypes? (this assumes you know the types and fidelity levels)
  2. What are some pitfalls to avoid when prototyping?

Note: I am aware that there is a report due on class day, but this is NOT an excuse to not do the readings!

Is this reading guidance useful to you? Do I need to invest the time to write a post each week, or is my time better spent elsewhere? Please let me know in the comments and ratings below.

 

  1. I find it very useful! I try to tailor my posts to it to make sure I am getting everything I need to out of the readings. Sometimes some of the readings a bit over my head and these posts help me know what I need to grasp.

    • carol
    • October 21st, 2012

    I think the way you giving us some instruction and guideline when we go through the reading materials is of much benefit. It is more goal-directed and also time-saving. Thanks for you help, Dr.V!

    • carol
    • October 21st, 2012

    carol :I think the way you giving us some instructions and guidelines when we go through the reading materials is of much benefit. It is more goal-directed and also time-saving. Thanks for you help, Dr.V!

  2. The guidelines were really helpful for me. They guided me what I should focus, and they prevented me from missing many core concepts.

  3. I find it helpful to know what you feel are the most important things to learn from the chapter.

  4. I think the reading guidance is useful. But I find it a bit difficult to connect it with the reading reflection. If I try to answer all the questions in the reading guidance, I’ll get most of the important things out of the reading, but I feel my reading reflection would turn into something more like a summary without specific points of opinion. Often times, I feel things in the text may be known to most UX researchers, and I couldn’t find any fresh thoughts or new connections to offer in the reading reflections.

    • Xin, you don’t *have* to answer the questions in the reading guidance in your reading reflection. You can use my pointers to guide your attention to make sure you don’t miss the important points as you read, but reflect on whatever else you wish.

  5. Thank you all for your feedback!

  6. I like the guidelines, having a goal to get out of the readings and the main concept you should try to answer makes it much easier.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Write comment

