Must read: the $300 Million button

You absolutely need to read this post about how making a tiny change to a very simple Web form resulted in a yearly revenue increase of $300 million for an online retailer.

It is a story about the power of:

  • the importance of the tiniest interface detail
  • observation and usability testing

You also absolutely need to learn this name: Jared Spool – and here’s why.

Hat tips to Twitter users @dtelepathy, @uie, @kellyndesigns – the post reached me through them.

Did you read this post? Please indicate by commenting, ranking, liking, etc.

    • Quincy Clark
    • October 19th, 2011

    Dr. v,

    One of my favorite California home grown retailers had the same problem. Since I now live in Indiana I shop this retailer via online. I can’t tell you how many times I have filled my cart only to abandon it when requested to register. They have fixed this problem which makes shopping easier.

    Thanks for the good read.

    • Geovon
    • October 19th, 2011

    From the article: “Later, we did an analysis of the retailer’s database, only to discover 45% of all customers had multiple registrations in the system, some as many as 10. We also analyzed how many people requested passwords, to find out it reached about 160,000 per day. 75% of these people never tried to complete the purchase once requested.”

    Now *that’s* a great takeaway! Underscores the importance of taking a good, hard look at user data and forming usability assumptions.

  1. I also navigate away from most sites that require registration – and not just for shopping. I just don’t want my personal information out there and out of my control beyond what I consider necessary.

  2. Same with Geovon, just loving the database part! Good to know another reliable way to “observe” user behavior.
    As a repeat customer in some websites such as Amazon, SEPHORA, and Skinstore, I rely on autofill function or addons such as 1 password to help me fill out the forms quickly.

  3. This is a wonderful example. As a web designer/programmer, just the same effort to program, but have totally different result. Think more in user experience to broaden our ideas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Write comment

